For academics reviewing this blog, please share with your students that the deadline for the 2019-2020 Essay Prize is fast approaching.

Applicants should get their papers in by 14 February 2020 – please click here for the submission form and further details.

The Society of International Economic Law, the Journal of International Economic Law, and Oxford University Press have jointly established the SIEL/JIEL/OUP Essay Prize to award the best essay submitted on any topic in any field of international economic law.

The competition is open annually to all current undergraduate and graduate students of any university or other tertiary education institution, and those who have graduated from a university or other tertiary education institution no earlier than five years before the submission deadline (this can include five years from PhD graduation). Co-authorship is permitted provided all authors meet the stated conditions. Members of the SIEL Executive Council may not submit entries. The essay must not have been previously published. Submissions shall not exceed 10,000 words and shall follow the JIEL style sheet.

The essay prize comprises three parts. The prize consists of £200, as well as £400 of Oxford University Press book vouchers and a three year subscription to the Journal of International Economic Law. The winner will receive free entry to the Graduate Institute/IIEL Annual Conference on WTO Law, and where circumstances permit, he/she will be also given the opportunity to present on a Panel or poster presentation at the conference. The winning essay may be submitted to the Journal of International Economic Law for publication, subject to the standard review and decision procedures.

The prize is awarded by the SIEL Executive Council on the recommendation of a Prize Committee drawn from its members and the Editorial Board of the Journal of International Economic Law. Any queries should be addressed by email to Dr Gracia Marin Duran (University College London) at

The winner of the 2018-2019 SIEL/JIEL/OUP Prize was Catherine Gascoigne for her article, ‘The Role of Non-Attribution in Determining the Use of Trade Remedies’.

The winner of the 2017-2018 SIEL/JIEL/OUP Prize was Rafael Lima-Sakr, with his article, ‘Beyond History and Boundaries: Rethinking the Past in the Present of International Economic Law‘.

The winner of the 2016-2017 SIEL/JIEL/OUP Prize was Luigi Pedreschi (European University Institute), with his article entitled “Balancing Efficacy with Space: Public Services in EU Trade“.

Comments are closed.